The Foulkes Foundation Medal is awarded to a rising star in biomedical research for making a significant impact on UK bioscience

Key dates

Nominations for the 2015 Medal are now open. Please send all applications or any questions to

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 16 June 2015.

The 2015 Medal will be awarded on 3 December 2015 at the Academy's Annual General Meeting.

The winner will receive a cash prize of £1500 and will deliver a lecture on their research at the Academy's Spring Meeting for Clinician Scientists in Training on 25 February 2016.

Previous medal winners: 


About the prize

The Medal is awarded biennially to a researcher who has shown outstanding achievements in research during the first ten years of their career following the completion of their PhD. Consideration is given to those who have taken time out early in their career due to family commitments, illness or for other reasons.

The Foulkes Foundation Medal is awarded by a group of Academy Fellows and representatives of the Foulkes Foundation.

Foulkes Foundation representatives:

Mrs Maureen Foulkes-Hadju

Professor John Chester

Professor Colin Self

Academy of Medical Sciences representatives:

Sir Robert Lechler FMedSci

Professor Robin Ali FMedSci

Professor Maria Fitzgerald FMedSci

The Foulkes Foundation was established in 1972 by Dr Ernest Foulkes CBE HonMD HonFRCP following his retirement from the company he established, Measuring and Scientific Equipment Ltd, one of the world's most respected scientific instrument manufacturers. The Foundation aims to promote medical research, the training of scientists and the study of medicine.


The Academy is grateful to the Foulkes Foundation for the support of this medal.

Scientific advice and global health discussion event

Book now

Annual Fellows Meeting and Dinner 2015

Book now

South East Region Annual Scientific Lecture

Book now
View more

Starter Grants for Clinical Lecturers

Read more
View more